Just for Fun…

 

DID YOU KNOW?

• The total annual costs for fibromyalgia claimants were more than twice as high as the costs for the typical insurance beneficiary. (www.FMaware.org)

• Sinead O-Conner suffers from Fibromyalgia (Do you think that she was in a fibro fog when she ripped up the picture of the pope on Saturday Night Live?)

• There is a theory that Job suffered from Fibromyalgia?

            “I, too, have been assigned months of futility, long and weary nights of misery. When I go to bed, I think, `When will it be morning?’ But the night drags on, and I toss till dawn…And now my heart is broken. Depression haunts my days. My weary nights are filled with pain as though something were relentlessly gnawing at my bones.” (Job 7:3-4; 30:16-17)

• People believe Florence Nightingale had fibromyalgia. She is quoted as saying, “There is no part of my life, upon which I can look back without pain.”

• It’s rumored that a group of people with Fibromyalgia suggested to Oprah that she should have a show about Fibro to get some knowledge out there. It’s said that she would not do it unless celebrities with fibro came on to talk about it. (Hmmm…not too upset her show is going off the air).

• Fibro has been around in medical research since the 1800’s, but it wasn’t until 1981 (the year I was born!) that they had a clinical study on tender points for diagnosis. Fibro was thought to be a psychological condition and was treated as such. (www.fmaware.org)

• Different things can trigger fibro symptoms (at least in my experience):

  • Weather
  • Stress o Loud noises 
  •  Strong smells 
  •  Food

 

• There are many other symptoms to Fibromyalgia other than pain… Additional symptoms may include (From the National Fibromyalgia Association):

  •  Irritable bowel and bladder (I’m no fun on car trips, and it’s best not to get ticked off if there is not bathroom nearby)
  •  Headaches and migraines ( Have had them forever, wondering if they weren’t my earliest sign of the fibro coming)
  • Restless legs syndrome (I don’t suffer from this one, but I do get a lot of random twitches everywhere else)
  •  Impaired memory and concentration (There are times when I do concentrate enough to get a lot done, but then I forget if I did those things! I should buy stock in post-it notes!)
  •  Skin sensitivities and rashes (And they get worse during flares! There is a theory out there that Fibro hits after a traumatic event. I started getting rashes during a really awful part of my life, which I think was one of my other early signs.)
  • Dry eyes and mouth (I am the queen of contacts popping out from my eyes being dry. The dry mouth is terrible in the morning.)
  • Anxiety, depression (I would like to add feeling paranoid into this category. I think it would be completely un-natural not to have these side effects when dealing with Fibro!)
  • Ringing in the ears (not a big problem for me, but I do get a lot of ear pain.) o Dizziness (I can’t do the spins in Zumba some nights because of this. It’s awful. One spin and I feel like I’m going to get sick for about five minutes.)
  • Vision problems (I’m sure my vision has gotten much worse since my fibro took over, It’s like my eyes can’t concentrate on objects). 
  •  Raynaud’s Syndrome (this is when your fingers or toes turn white or blue with cold or stress. My fingers only turn slightly white, although I can’t hold a cold can or jar without wanting to throw it from pain! My toes definitely get oddly colored when they’re cold. I haven’t officially been diagnosed with this, but I have my suspicions).
  • Impaired coordination (This is always tested during pilates! Sometimes I just decide to go ahead and fall in my own house, and I’m also really good at running into every door frame or door knob I come across. I’m always getting bruises on my legs and arms where I have no idea where they came from)
Leave a Reply

