Celebration Blog…

The last few weeks have brought about an excuse to brag and celebrate some of my accomplishments!

First celebration:  I did a pretty darn good pike series in Pilates last night!  The weight on the chair was even changed to make it a little harder and I managed to do a good set.  I think I even surprised my instructor.  You’re going down evil Pilates chair!!  And best off…no wedgies were obtained during the whole exercise!

                                         The evil Pike (it’s harder than it looks)

Second celebration:  I met my 100 pound weight loss goal a week early (and even surpassed it by a pound).  It’s been a long road.  When I weighed in Friday, I think I went into shock for a minute.  All the reasons I started losing weight came rushing back at me.  Beyond the problems my weight could have caused my fibro I was also borderline diabetic, started to miss periods due to being overweight, I got winded going up stairs and started having breathing trouble during sleep.  Most heart breaking of all, when my husband and I started to look into adoption I found out my BMI was too high to meet the application criteria.  My husband was looking at the pictures we had (very few because I ran from the camera) of me before my weight loss.  He got very upset, very quiet and just kept saying he was sorry.  He said he should have stopped me.  But the truth is, if he had said anything back then it probably just would have made it worse.  I wasn’t ready to hear it.  I saw the weight on the scale, but had a million excuses for it (even though I just ate a 10 piece chicken nugget, large fries, large coke and a double cheeseburger to top it all off-yes I really ate that in one sitting).  He’s been supporting the decisions I have made when I finally stopped making excuses and it’s been support I needed to get to my goals. 

I know I now need to maintain, but I am blessed with the greatest support system with my family, friends and my second family at Ultimate Fitness.  Sometimes I wonder if I wouldn’t have lost as much as I have if I hadn’t been diagnosed with fibromyalgia.  When I was first diagnosed I wasn’t sure what the future held.  I wasn’t sure if fibro meant day after day of laying in bed in pain.  Realizing it was up to me to get out of that bed was motivation for me, a reason to keep trying and keep moving…not only to be healthy (and let’s face it-look a little hotter), but to show myself that the fibro’s not going to get me!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Vanessa Gonzalez
    Mar 25, 2011 @ 14:01:17

    Congratulations to all your accomplishments Jennifer! You are an inspiration!

    ..by the way, I am your mom’s co-worker/friend and she updates me with your progress from time to time..and I am also Filipino. I have heard about your good Filipino friends there in Terre Haute 🙂

    You are someone to be proud of…I am proud of you!

    I wish you all the best! Good luck in your new endeavors!

    Sincerely,
    Vanessa

    Reply

  2. martha.kuder@amgeneral.com
    Mar 25, 2011 @ 15:06:19

    This IS inspiring!!! Tell her CONGRATULATIONS !!!!

    From: Kuder, Martha
    Sent: Friday, March 25, 2011 10:41 AM
    To: Hollinshead, Kathie; Merrick, Nancy
    Subject: FW: [New post] Celebration Blog…

    Reply

  3. martha.kuder@amgeneral.com
    Mar 25, 2011 @ 15:20:05

    WOW!!!! I am so thrilled for Jennifer. Love her determination and endurance. She is so blessed to have a wonderful, supportive hubby and such a loving family. I just have to get active on Facebook so I can keep up with the latest happenings with everyone.

    Hope your day is going well. Have a great weekend.

    Love, Kimberly

    Reply

Leave a Reply

