Lights! Cameras! Zumbathon!

Yesterday was Zumbathon!  It was three hours of Zumba and a lot of fun!  Of course, no day would be complete without a major fibromyalgia moment!

Ultimate Fitness has their zumba addicts to come together to perform songs throughout zumbathon day.  We get together with an instructor, come up with choreography and perform throughout the three hours.  It was fun to come together with zumba friends and prepare for Zumbathon day.  Our little group has bonded and I am so glad I got to work with them. 

Our group decided to have one last practice yesterday morning and it’s a good thing we did!  Not because we weren’t ready, but because I wasn’t ready for what being on stage would do to my fibro.  Ultimate fitness goes all out with lights and fog machines.  The lights flash on and off, spin and make multi-colored dots dance around the stage.  They are awesome!  Don’t get me wrong, but when we walked on the stage and the dots started spinning on the floor under me, my fibro dizziness kicked in like crazy! It was like being sea sick.  It literally felt like the stage was moving under me and I couldn’t get my balance.   It’s amazing how much fibro messes with your equilibrium!  I had a serious moment of panic that I may look like the “drunk” member of the group!

One of our group members who stood behind me was watching me for the choreography.  She told me multiple times not to get dizzy and fall down because she was watching me and would probably just fall along with me!

 All I could do was laugh and no matter what I did, I had to remember to NOT LOOK DOWN!

It turned out by the time it was our turn to do our song my nerves took over any dizzy feeling.  I remembered not to look down, but when I looked straight ahead there was a video camera right in front of me.  WHOLE new reason to be nervous…”Oh no, there’s a camera!  Don’t make a stupid face!  Suck in the belly! Try to look like you know what you’re doing!” 

 

 

Needless to say, I made it through the whole song without the stage going out from under me!  Our group did great and won best choreography out of all the groups!

Lights, cameras, and all, I’m excited to challenge my dizziness and do it again next year!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Christiana Sayyah
    Mar 28, 2011 @ 00:01:19

    Hey, I had no idea you were struggling so much with it yesterday. That is so amazing that you pushed through and did an amazing job! You are really inspiring =)

    Zumba Love ❤
    -Christiana

    Reply

Leave a Reply

