Let it B….

Friday.  We have a love/hate relationship.  It kicks off the weekend, but Friday also means weigh-in day.  While I’ve still been doing really well with the weight loss (106.5 off as of last week), I can’t help but feel like I’m going to throw up all afternoon on Fridays from nerves.  I usually weigh in right after work, so it makes for a long, nervous work day.  I would also like to add that I can’t figure out why people always bring in the best treats to work on Fridays.  Today a local company brought us donuts and bagels.  Uggg!!!  I thought I might be able to get away with just licking the cream cheese lid, but instead I just gave them the stink eye as I ate my can of tuna and protein chips. 

Even though I get nervous, weigh-in also means I can get my weekly B-Vitamin shot!

There are studies being done to try to prove a connection between B-12 deficiency and people with fibromyalgia. 

Symptoms of B-12 deficiency include (from http://www.fighting fatigue.org):

  • Lack of energy – fatigue, anemia, shortness of breath, weakness
  • Neurological changes – numbness/tingling in hands and feet, depression, confusion, balance problems, memory loss, Alzheimer’s symptoms
  • Gastrointestional changes – Abdominal pain, decreased appetite, diarrhea, constipation
  • Immune system– Vitamin B-12 helps is necessary for normal functioning of white blood cells, helps regulate Natural-Killer T-cells, and prevents chromosome damage
  • IBS is a major cause of vitamin B-12 deficiency.

When I started my low carb/high protein diet, it was important to incorporate vitamins.  B-complex was one of the vitamins I was instructed to take.  After a few weeks of taking the vitamin form, my diet-guru also recommended the B-vitamin shot (it’s virtuously impossible to over-dose on B vitamins so the supplement and the shot are fine to take together).

The shots always seem to affect me a little differently.  The first night I felt completely normal, but went to Zumba the next morning and even after class felt like I needed to run or do another class all over again, or do whatever might burn the energy I had shooting through me.   The next week I had one and I couldn’t stop talking for a few hours after.  As the weeks have gone on, I seem to be getting used to the extra boost of energy, without acting quite as nutty.  I’ve also noticed it’s seemed to help me fight off a few colds I’ve been getting. 

Benefits of B-Vitamins include (from http://www.healthylife-healthyplanet.com/b-vitamins.html):

  • converting food to energy (my diet guru said this was very beneficial to my weight loss)
  • forming healthy red blood cells
  • reducing the risk of heart disease (I need all the help I can get, we have a lot of heart problems in my family)
  • reduce or even eliminate PMS symptoms (I’m still waiting for it to work on this one…nuff said).
  • reduce or eliminate anemia          
  • Minimize and even eliminates depression (It definitely pulls you out of a funky mood).
  • preventing birth defects

The shots only cost $10.00 a week, and for me, it’s well worth the money!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Margo
    Apr 15, 2011 @ 21:05:02

    I am so excited that you’re talking about b vitamin deficiency!!! I started taking super b complex about a month ago and I feel so much better!!! My energy level is dramatically improved. After years of exhaustion it’s a miracle!!!

    Reply

  2. Bekah
    Apr 25, 2011 @ 21:47:55

    Hi there! Your sister, Shannon, is a friend of mine who I know from church. Today I was lamenting about my fibro–I’m in extreme pain today–and Shannon directed me to your blog. It’s great! Can’t wait to read through. Just wondering if you’re local (as in the Michiana area); if so I would love to chat with you! Thanks so much!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

