Because I Can’t Keep a Secret…

 

Being an active person with fibromyalgia has so many benefits. I feel like I can manage a lot of my pain and flares when I keep moving. I can’t thank God enough for blessing me with a love for exercise.

However, I’ve also been reminded (a lot it seems in the last few weeks) that being an active person with fibromyalgia comes with downfalls. I have had many people tell me there was no way I could possibly have it with as active as I am. Or some people assume I am on multiple pain killers to be able to do what I do. I was recently told after a recent Zumba class that I need to stop “going, going, going.” While I admit after a muscle pull in my butt I had to learn how to modify my workouts a little. I also learned (even if it was the hard way) what my body can’t do, and that’s perfectly OK with me. However, when I was told this, I still drove home in tears and cried a little to my hubby and my best friend.

I know my friends/family worry and I LOVE them for that, but I hate feeling different. I hate feeling like I may not get to do what everyone else gets to do. I hate that people worry about me so much (even though I know they only do because they care about me).

 After talking with my hubby and my workout P.I.C. they both had the same advice. They told me that people probably aren’t used to people with fibromyalgia pushing themselves so hard, or not being afraid to push. They both told me that they know when I don’t feel good I rest and when I feel good I take advantage of it. They told me to be more open to people who seem to be worrying and if they seem to be concerned that I’m doing too much to let them know that I’m feeling good that day and while I feel good, I’m going to keep moving.

I know I have a lot of things going on in my head when it comes to me being active. Like I said, I don’t want to feel different. I don’t want to feel “disabled” in any way. And most of all, I’m thirty, and I don’t want to feel old. I know I’m the only person who can work through these mental challenges with fibro, but as long as I have motivation, I’m going with it.

I feel like I’ve accomplished so much in the last few years. I’ve been diagnosed with fibro, and stared it down, and keep fighting it every single day. I have not been afraid to personally find what I need to manage this terrible condition, and I think I’m doing pretty good so far.

I’ve hit 115 pounds off on my weight loss which is way beyond anything I thought I would do. Now I’ve decided there is another goal I want to meet. It’s a weight loss goal, a fitness goal, and also a way to prove to myself that I can do this, even with fibromyalgia.

On July 30th, I am going to become a certified Zumba instructor. I had initially said I was not going to say anything until I completed it, but I’ve already found in the last week that trying to do this for over a month would be REALLY hard. I had been thinking about it for awhile, and then my Zumba buddy got certified and I didn’t want it to look like I was doing it because she did (love ya Vern!). I got to thinking about it though, and there’s no better time than the present.

I love everything about Zumba. I love the music, the crowds, the clothes, and how much fun everyone seems to have when they do it. I think 10 years from now if I didn’t do it I would regret I didn’t do it when I was 30 and feeling good. I don’t know that I’ll ever even get to teach a class. I first want to do it for my fitness/fibro goals and for the 265 pound person I once was. If I get to teach along the way, that’s just an added perk!

I would like to ultimately get certified in Zumba Gold, which focuses on a less intense class that could be taught to seniors. I’ve worked in nursing homes for almost 6 years now in the Business Office and have such a love for the residents. I love the thought of someday being able to teach them Zumba. It may take me awhile to get certified in this area, but I would love to be able to do Zumba with some residents some day.

I’m so excited to go to the training. I think it will be a blast!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Big Sister
    Jun 15, 2011 @ 02:03:28

    Congrats!!!! That’s so great!

    Reply

  2. martha.kuder@amgeneral.com
    Jun 22, 2011 @ 12:06:36

    You have chosen your spouse wisely!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

