Fibro didn’t stop me from shakin’ my butt!

It’s official!  I am now a certified Zumba instructor!

Yesterday I completed the 8 hour workshop lead by Lindsey Taylor (totally awesome to meet her…like meeting a Zumba rock star).  The day was so much fun!  We started the day with a Master class that was so full of energy you couldn’t help but put 100 percent into it.  Lindsey has great choreography and hip/ butt shaking skills to die for .

We had a few lectures throughout the day about the history of Zumba, how to choreograph music, teaching our first class, picking music and info about joining the Zumba community.  We spent the majority of the day breaking down the basic Zumba steps.  We broke down the Merengue, Salsa, Cumbia and Raggaeton(my favorite).  We spent the majority of the day dancing and I loved it.  I learned a lot about the steps we have been doing in class.  I found out what I was doing right and some things I thought I was doing right, but was actually doing wrong. 

It was so much fun being in such a large group of people who have a passion for Zumba.  That love for what we were doing made the room so full of energy it could have popped.  Everyone was smiling, laughing and just having a good time. 

The day went so fast and was so busy I didn’t have time to worry about my fibromyalgia.  I didn’t have one fibro pain the whole day and actually felt really great.  The only problem I seemed to have was a little feet swelling, but I don’t think that was fibro because by the final lecture, the majority of the people by me had kicked off their shoes. 

I could say I got through the training with no fibro problems what-so-ever but I wouldn’t be telling the truth.  Today I finally felt it.  Not with pain, but more with fatigue.  I slept in but after being up a few hours and being incredibly grumpy, it was decided it would be best if I took a nap.  After my nap I feel back to normal (which I’m sure my husband is unbelievably happy about since he caught the majority of my grumpiness). 

The fatigue was totally worth having to have the great experience I had yesterday and I won’t let my fibro stop me from any future trainings.  Zumba has changed my life in so many ways I’m glad to become a bigger part of it.  It has helped me lose weight, given me confidence in myself, given me some of the greatest friends, and most importantly…helped me manage my fibro pain. 

Down the road I hope I get to teach a class, but for now I’m totally happy having met my fitness goal to go through the training and my fibro goal to prove I could survive it!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ginger
    Aug 02, 2011 @ 20:47:52

    Congratulations! I am very happy for you!

    Reply

  2. Jenn
    Sep 22, 2011 @ 02:18:27

    It’s funny how God works….and you stumble across things when you least expect them. I did a random search and came across this page. Amazing. I was donig some research for a blog I am putting together, where I was going to start off by showing my B1 & B1 licenses in a picture and then start talking! Eerie, to say the least, based on the face, my picture looks just like yours, and I’m also a Jennifer.
    I’m right there with you, Fibro sister – I became licensed in May and am now plowing through the pain, teaching 4 classes a week. Zumba is amazing and one of my many passions—acheiving this goal despite having Fibromyalgia is a blessing indeed! Congratulatons!

    Reply

    • jenfibrofighter
      Sep 22, 2011 @ 12:11:08

      Wow! Jenn. That’s weird! I would love to chat with you sometimes. E-mail sometimes maybe? It would be nice to talk to another instructor who is going through the same things! Are you a ZIN?

      Reply

  3. Jenn
    Sep 22, 2011 @ 21:43:25

    Hey Jen – Yep, I’m a ZIN! We def should chat. U have my email address right? If not, let me know where I can email you mine.:)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

