Pink Feet Walking…

 

 

This weekend was a very special weekend for me and my family, especially my mom.  Yesterday we did our first Susan G. Komen Race for the Cure since my mom became a breat cancer survivor.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

My mom, my mother in law (also a brave survivor),my sister, brother, his girlfriend, her roommate and two special friends came along to walk the five mile trek with us.  I “pinked” out the house and planned a special lunch for “Team Martha.”  I loved planning the day for my mom.  She is one of my best friends, my rock, my hero for handling her breast cancer diagnosis with such strength…Oh…and she’s also my twin. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Just my luck, Tuesday night I started to cough and Wednesday brought full-blown bronchitis (my fall season specialty).  I’ve mentioned it before, but getting sick with fibro is a whole new challenge.  “Get your rest.”  “Get some sleep.” I was given all the usual tips for healing sickness.  Only with fibro, laying down too much meant being twice as sore, twice as stiff, and twice as frustrated that I wouldn’t be better in time for the walk!  Perfect timing as always, Jennifer!!

We woke up bright and early Saturday to 40 degree temps.  Decorated ourselves in pink and after some confusion with registration, were ready to start our 5k walk. 

Sickness aside, I’m glad I’ve conditioned my fibro to allow my body to be able to do things like this walk with my family and not be over-whelmed with pain. I’m not going to say I was strong and brushed off my sickness and walked the 5 miles in record time.  In fact, my nose wouldn’t stop running, I couldn’t breathe and  I spent a lot of it light-headed. 

But…

We passed a lot of groups walking “in memory” of someone.  We saw many people in “survivor” T-shirts and I was humbled by how young most of them looked.  I figured if those people were were fighters, a lot survived chemo, and radiation, or loss in their family, that what I was feeling was pretty minor compared to their battle with cancer. 

I got a very happy surprise for Saturday night.  I got to keep my mom and sister as house guests an extra night as their previous plans fell through.  We ate more pizza than four people should consume in one sitting, I scarred my sister for life by putting dirty words into our scrabble game, and my dogs got completely spoiled.

I can’t wait to put another weekend like this one together to celebrate such a great survivor. 

 

Leave a Reply

