FIQ

I recently had a routine appointment with my rheumatologist.  The first thing they make me do each time I go is fill out a questionnaire.  For those of you who do not have fibro or a chronic pain condition, I thought it might be interesting to show an example of a chronic pain questionnaire so you can get a little insight into what we have to do when we see our doctor.  As you can tell, the questions are pretty generic and they are probably looking for straight-forward answers, but I’m going to answer them the way I REALLY want to when I go to the doctor.  Maybe next time I should?

(Questionnaire courtesy of: http://www.myalgia.com)

FIBROMYALGIA IMPACT QUESTIONNAIRE (FIQ)

For the past week, were you able to:

 

Do shopping? ……………………………

At no point did my Fibro keep me from shopping for the new line of Zumba clothes at Zumba.com.  It also didn’t keep me from grocery shopping, but after dealing with the people at Wal-Mart- sometimes I wish it would.

Do laundry with a washer and dryer? ……..

 

Yep.  And I’m still trying to figure out how two people accumulate so much laundry in just a few days.

 

Prepare meals? …………………………………..

 

This is a trick question.  I can’t cook.  I’m terrible at it.  My husband does the cooking.

Wash dishes/cooking utensils by hand?…..

 

Might be doing more of this if our dishwasher doesn’t stop acting up

Vacuum a rug?…………………………………….

 

Two dogs and a cat in my house.  If I couldn’t run the vacuum, we’d be eye-ball deep in hair balls.

Make beds? ………………………………………..

Does anyone else get pissed when they have to make a bed after not being able to sleep all night?

 

Walk several blocks? …………………………..

My pedometer said I took 6,000 steps in Zumba class.  I’m sure that counts for some blocks.

 

Visit friends or relatives? ………………………

No problem, Doc.

Do yard work?……………………………………..

 

It went from snow to ice to thunderstorms to ice to sleet and now back to rain.  It would be wonderful just to be able to spend some time outside.

Drive a car? ………………………………………..

 

Besides a little slip-sliding on the ice, no problem.

Climb stairs? ………………………………………

This has actually been a problem the last few weeks.  With the weather switching every few hours, my knees have been really sore!

 

12. Of the 7 days in the past week, how many days did you feel good? 

 

4

 

13. How many days last week did you miss work, including housework, because of fibromyalgia?

Missed no days of work.  Used Fibro at least twice as an excuse not to do housework. *wink wink*  In all honesty, my husband helps out a lot at home and I’m very appreciative. 

14. When you worked, how much did pain or other symptoms of your fibromyalgia interfere with your ability to do your work, including housework?

We have decided to switch to a new billing system at work.  This means switching all the patient information from the old system to the new.  This led to me typing for almost 8 hours straight for a good three days.  My fingers and wrists were wrecked.  I was pretty convinced I was going to have to ask one of my students to start my IPOD in Zumba class because I couldn’t work the buttons.  I spent many afternoons soaking my hands and arms in the tub which seemed to help.  The data entry is over.  For now.  It’s a much needed break.  It was one of the first times I actually had to consider telling my boss I couldn’t do my job without some extra help because of my fibro.

15. How bad has your pain been?

See above.  It’s not been fun the past few weeks.

16. How tired have you been?

I’m not sleeping again.  I got a big tease about two weeks ago and slept like a baby for multiple days in a row.  By the weekend, insomnia was back full force.

17. How have you felt when you get up in the morning?

 

How do you feel after night after night of not getting a full night’s sleep??  Huh??  Huh??  What’s your answer buddy?  I’m waiting!!…uh…I mean…I’ve felt a little irritable.

 

18. How bad has your stiffness been?

I’m sorry…I can’t resist… “THAT’S WHAT SHE SAID.”

 

19. How nervous or anxious have you felt?

It’s been a long week.  I’ll leave it at that.  I’ve been both this week, but seem to be getting through it with a smile on my face.

20. How depressed or blue have you felt?

I’m feeling much better since my last blog, thank you for asking.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Marie-Louise
    Feb 11, 2012 @ 16:45:55

    Hello.

    I have been diagnosed with Fibromyalgia and Chronic Fatigue Syndrome for years as well as Bipolar. I have never had to fill out this kind of questionnaire.

    That might have something to do with the quality of my medical care?

    Reply

  2. Ginger
    Apr 04, 2012 @ 02:06:52

    You are funny! I haven’t had to fill one of those out at my Rhuemotoligist’s either and he is concidered one of the best in our area. I do fill out another questionare but it’s more specific questions about stiffness lengths, tingling, burning, etc.
    My answers would have all been much different, I hope to someday soon be closer to your answers 🙂

    Reply

    • jenfibrofighter
      Apr 20, 2012 @ 12:11:20

      I think next time I go, which is pretty soon, I’m going to fill out my answers this way. I want to keep him on his toes and see how much they really pay attention to these things 😉

      Reply

  3. Gwen
    Apr 29, 2012 @ 09:39:36

    That was brilliant! You crack me up…sorry to be stalking you tonight but I’m suffering from #16 and #17 so I’m under the covers (do as not to wake my husband) reading your blog. I think you should do it! If he has a sense of humor at all he will (or the nurse) will get a good laugh. Oh and I’ve never filled out one of these at my Rhuematologist’s office either.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

