Kicking and Screaming…

Now that I am almost two years into my diagnosis of fibromyalgia, I’m wondering when the surprise symptoms are going to stop.  I was told when I was first diagnosed that fibro doesn’t really get better, but also doesn’t get “worse.”  I beg to differ.

 It seems every few months or so I find a new symptom.  I asked my rheumy about the condition “progressing.”  They told me since I have gone off any drug treatments I may just be feeling these pains and problems for the first time.  Their solution…more drugs.  I was given a prescription for a very light muscle relaxer.  I took half of a tablet in desperation about a month ago and got nauseous and had the same heart racing problem I’ve had with all the other drugs I’ve tried.  As of today…I’m still fighting this drug free and I intend to keep it that way as long as I can manage.

 Because of this drug-free decision, I have to learn to manage my new symptoms.  One of the most annoying I’ve developed over the past few months is muscle twitching. I am having involuntary twitches, mostly in my legs, almost daily. I think “twitching” may be too mild a word to describe it.  It’s more like my legs have had enough of this fibro nonsense and they’re jumping up, running away and getting the hell outta dodge! 

 I have the most trouble at night when I lay down and in the early morning.  It’s an unfortunate side effect when it tends to happen in our managers morning meeting at work and my leg jumps up and I inevitably hit my knee on the desk.  The twitch seems to come along with a bang of the knee on a desk or chair, and few choice cuss words tend to fly out of my mouth at the same time.  I’m sure this has been entertaining to my co-works, but my knees are covered with little bruises. 

 I’m not alone with this problem according to www.fibromyalgia-symptoms.org.  The following is listed on this site:

 Muscle twitching and weakness are common symptoms of fibromyalgia syndrome. In fact, more than half of fibromyalgia sufferers seem to experience at least one of the two symptoms.

Muscle twitching in fibromyalgia seems to be related to the location of specific tender points throughout the body. These tender points tend to irritate nerves in the body, which may cause muscles to twitch involuntarily. Muscle twitching may also be related to the high incidence of sleep related disorders in fibromyalgia, including bruxism and restless leg syndrome. Though the cause of these disorders remains unknown, they do cause involuntary and compulsive muscle twitches.

Muscle weakness is also a major problem for fibromyalgia sufferers. Some researchers theorize that this is due to the fact that many fibromyalgia patients do not perform enough physical exercise to maintain their muscle strength, due to muscle pain and overall fatigue levels. However, recent studies have linked fibromyalgia-related muscle weakness to a dietary insufficiency. In particular, those with muscle weakness appeared to have low levels of Vitamin D in their system. When treated for four to six weeks with Vitamin D supplements, symptoms of muscle weakness improved and even disappeared.

I definitely do not have a lack of physical exercise, but because I do push my body so hard with Zumba I might try a Vitamin D supplement to see if it helps.  It would also be fantastic if spring would arrive so I can get some natural Vitamin D treatments!

I’m considering myself lucky at this point that my twitches haven’t done more damage.  When I looked this subject up online, I found multiple stories of husbands and wives getting bloody noses, black eyes and kicked out of bed by their fibro-suffering spouses. 

When I said I’ll fight fibromyalgia, even if I go out kicking and screaming, this is NOT what I meant.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ginger
    Apr 04, 2012 @ 01:57:54

    I am also drug free 🙂 I take Aleve if I am flaring but that is it! Interesting tip about vitamin D, I knew it was a common deficiency but didn’t know what the effects were. I get twitching infrequently but always have weak muscles, a gallon of milk is actually very hard for me to pick up when it’s more than half full. I’m going to increase my vitamin d intake though, thanks 🙂

    Reply

  2. Gwen
    Apr 29, 2012 @ 08:24:31

    I found your blog doing what you do typing Fibromyalgia+whatever I think might be interesting. Fibromyalgia images took me to your Fibrfix scam page with the “I am not Fibro. I am what kicks its butt by getting out of bed every morning” Thanks for that awesome quote!

    Now to the point…I recently had blood work done and my Vitamin D was really low. I had been even more tired than my normal tired, falling asleep driving and such my Rhuematologist put me on prescription level of D once a week for 3months. I have taken it for 3 weeks and I am doing tremendously better! I can’t say for sure it is the D…perhaps it was just a bad flare and it is just a coincidence but I wanted to let you know my experience at least. Can’t hurt to get checked! Oh and Vitamin D can be toxic, so be careful trying to dose without blood testing!

    Thanks for this blog…VERY uplifting and informative!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

