Salsa, Merengue, Raggaeton, Fibro Fog…

 

 

It’s hard to believe it was only a year ago that I was writing about Ultimate Fitness and their annual Zumbathon.  Yesterday marked their fifth annual Zumbathon and once again, it was a blast.

I re-read my post from last year and had to laugh.  I noticed I wrote a lot about my nervousness when I went on with fellow students to do a song with one of the instructors.  It’s hard to believe that a year later I was leading my own crew as an instructor…and yes…I was still a little nervous.

About ten minutes before I went on with my crew, I had a MAJOR fibro fog moment and couldn’t remember my song.  *gulp* I have done the song a thousand times and still blanked out.   Fibro fog moments can be so irritating.  A thousand things go through your mind except the ONE thing you want to remember.

*How much time do we have before we go on?  Do I have time to practice?*

*Oh no!  Now I have to pee.  Do I have time to practice AND find a bathroom?*

*Come on Jennifer, you know this…you just did it in class Wednesday you dummy!*

 I went to the dressing room, googled the song as quickly as I could to listen and get my memory back.

*whew*

Crisis diverted.  (Well sort of…I only forgot one move…thought I’d played it off until one of my crew members behind me giggled.  And THEY were worried about forgetting it…sheesh). 

I know it sounds generic and I probably sound like a walking advertisement, but I genuinely don’t know what my life would be like if I wasn’t involved with Zumba.

People seem confused about why I intentionally push my body when it may mean extra pain.  It’s hard to explain that if I don’t move and don’t push myself a little bit, my pain would be much worse. 

Yes.  After three hours of Zumba I hurt.  Was it pain I couldn’t handle?  Nope.  Did my pain slow me down?  No way.  Was it worth being a little extra fatigued and have little extra pain today?  YES!  My fibro is already to battle three hours next year!

I feel very proud of myself to not let fibro keep from becoming a Zumba instructor.  I had the opportunity with this Zumbathon to meet other instructors from all over Indiana.  I got some great advice while talking with them, was inspired by their different teaching styles, and laughed a lot with them.  It was a really fun day.  I feel very blessed with the friendships Zumba has brought me.  I can’t imagine how dull my life would be without such a hyper, funny, and caring group of people in it.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ~Ty~
    Mar 26, 2012 @ 02:09:02

    So proud of you! You’re absolutely right, the best thing you can do for your body is to MOVE! Keep shaking & grooving & inspiring others. You rock! 🙂

    Reply

  2. ~Ty~
    Mar 26, 2012 @ 02:12:25

    Reblogged this on Practical Fitness With Ty.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

