Whoohoo!

To those of you who don’t know, (although I’m not sure how you wouldn’t since I’ve been yapping it everywhere) I won the Fibromyalgia awareness video contest!  Yay!  Thank you so much for voting!

 Special thanks to FibroModem for having the contest.  Please check out her blog here: http://fibromodem.wordpress.com/  She has some great information to share and is very open about her life with Fibro, and I’ve really enjoyed reading her blog!

I have a Fibro Fighter package on the way for winning and I’m super excited to get it!  I’m also very excited to wear the hat and shirt to Zumba and take my mouse pad to work!

 

For those of you who may not know, I’ve had a rough few weeks.  I’ve been down and struggling with major anxiety.  This contest couldn’t have come at a better time, as the comments I’ve received in regards to my video have been so incredibly touching.  I NEVER expected to reach so many people, or better yet, influence them.   I have to share some of the wonderful comments I’ve received for my video:

“I will go to the shop now to get dinner and I will WALK there.”

“Made me see the light, however small, again”

“Inspiring”

“Light at the end of the tunnel”

“Tried Zumba…Loved it.” (of course she did..hehe)

“She’s a badass”   I’m purely being self indulgent listing this one, but love it!

This is my favorite:

“Thought about becoming an instructor (Yoga) but then thought no, I can’t.  This video has made me think.  Maybe I CAN.”

My mom told me to re-read these next time I’m having a bad day…she also told me not to let the comments go to my head…hehe.  Not to worry, Mom, this experience has humbled me more than swelled my head.  I’ve realized I need to give myself more credit.  I’m extremely hard on myself and forget that as I’m going through my day I’m achieving goals just by getting my tired butt out of bed.  Remembering this is much easier said than done for me, but I’m going to try to work on it. 

Thank you again to everyone.  I’m looking forward to May 12th…Don’t forget to wear purple!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Purple Law Lady
    May 02, 2012 @ 07:03:47

    You ARE a Bad Ass!!!!!

    Reply

  2. barefoot_med_student
    May 02, 2012 @ 17:55:17

    Saw your vid on youtube, it’s awesome. I really enjoy fibro blogs, because my mom had fibromyalgia. I guessed her diagnosis when I was a first year medical student, but our doctor told me I was being silly and her pain was in her head. In January this year I took her to a new doctor who diagnosed her. Just knowing that she’s not crazy has helped her a lot. She’s quite a busy body and doesn’t go on the internet much, but when I go home again I’ll definitely show her your vid.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

