What I’ve learned this week…

I started my new job this week.  So far so good!  I crammed enough learning into five days to send my fibro fog into overdrive.  By yesterday, my husband I went grocery shopping and I caught myself talking backwards.  Hey, at least I saved that for the people at Wal-Mart (along with a very confused hubby) and not the clients at the gym.  I can hear myself now “Are signed up you today Pilates?” 

Going from a nursing home to a gym is quite a switch and I’ve learned a few new things this week:

-People LOVE their early morning workouts.  At 6 a.m. on the dot, clients come in ready to work.  These people are my hero’s.  I am NOT an early morning exerciser.  I think a lot of it is because my fibro handles night work-outs much better, but truth be told, I’m not very pleasant in the morning.  I’m probably putting that lightly.

-While my Zumba® Gold chair classes are starting off slow, I had one of the best experiences while teaching this type of class this week.  I cooled down to “Feeling Good” by Michael Buble’.  http://search.yahoo.com/r/_ylt=A0oG7iWDSV9QNFkANxJXNyoA/SIG=120somkru/EXP=1348450819/**http%3a//www.youtube.com/watch%3fv=Edwsf-8F3sI  You have to click this link to this song to truly appreciate the “sultry” mood of the music. An adorable woman who attended my class LOVES this song and started singing along.  Before I know it, she’s yelling “Take it off, Take it off!”  It was a good thing this song was my cool down because I was laughing so hard I probably couldn’t have composed myself for any other songs!  Experiences like these are why I LOVE teaching Zumba®!

– People make very interesting noises while they’re working out.  Nuff said.

– I lost 3 ½ pounds this week alone!  Crazy what happens when you don’t sit behind a desk for over 8 hours a day.

– Starting a new job the same week the weather switches from 70 to 39 degrees was ridiculous!  I had fully prepared myself for a “stress from starting a new job, new schedule, oh my God…CHANGE” flare, but I was unpleasantly surprised by a “new weather” flare.  Here comes fall!

– My bosses are Filipino.  I need language lessons.  Can you imagine Fibro-fog mixed with a brand new language!  I have enough trouble with English most days!

– Our gym has partnered with the bariatric center who helped me with my diet during my weight loss.  A much needed “follow my healthy diet” has happened this week.  And if anyone out there has followed a high-protein diet, you feel my pain here.  My increase of protein has also come with an increase of gas.  Aren’t I sexy??  This partnership let me in on one a client’s start of her weight loss journey.  She lost 7 ½ pounds her first week starting with the diet and exercise program.  Seeing her do this was really amazing!

– This change has been good for my mindset.  It was time and I’m happy to make some changes in my life!

We’ll see what next week brings!

Leave a Reply

