Why I Quit Teaching Zumba…

NO IT WASN’T BECAUSE I HAVE FIBRO.

Many times I have been told that my fibro would eventually become so bad that my activity, including Zumba, would have to stop.

I want to clarify THIS IS NOT THE CASE!

Giving up teaching Zumba was a very difficult decision for me, and it wasn’t one that came suddenly. I still highly respect, and highly recommend Zumba for anyone looking for a fun and effective way to get in shape. I owe the program SO much. Yes, it started my weight loss journey, but more importantly, it gave me a love for fitness. I fully believe Zumba has impacted where I am even today. My fertility issues where impacted by my poor health…then “Surprise! You’re pregnant!” I found a job that is full of fitness oriented people and LOVE that and am SO happy with my new job! I was diagnosed with fibro, but loved Zumba so much I wouldn’t let it impact my fitness or health goals. There are probably a thousand other examples of what it has done for me and I will always be grateful for that! When I sold some of my Zumba clothes I cried. It was a very special part of my life, but it was time to move on.

I reached burn out. I suddenly began to dread getting ready for a class. NOT because I was in too much pain and NOT because I was too tried, it just kind of happened.

It wasn’t that I didn’t enjoy the class, or my students or how I felt after class…I just had a feeling in my gut like it was time to move on. I became an instructor as one of my “fibro isn’t going to stop me” goals and I feel I more than succeeded reaching that goal…but I needed a new one.

I wanted to do something more independent, not lead a class, or be told by an instructor what to do…I wanted to see if I could maintain my weight, my fitness goals AND my fibro on my own. I continue to be very blessed having great support in all of these areas, but at the end of the day, it’s up to me to maintain!

Shortly before finding out I was pregnant I found a love for running. Ok….honestly….it was (and still is) a love/hate relationship. It was a brand new challenge. It tested different muscles, tested my endurance, and I had to get my body (and fibro) adjusted to the change, but the more I did it, the more I enjoyed it. I could get lost in my own head, in my own music and take everything at my own pace. If I WAS hurting one day, I walked. Feeling great? Pushed myself to do a little extra distance.

I took my first run, post-baby, yesterday. It SUCKED! I loved it! It felt good to sweat and push myself again. Yes…I huffed and puffed and probably looked like a crazy person trying to find my stride again, but hey…I did it!

My new goal?

I WILL run a 5k by next summer.

I can’t wait to put another met goal under my “Fibro’s not going to stop me” list.

Leave a Reply

