Sorry You Asked?

Methotrexate: A disease-modifying antirheumatic drug (DMARD) that is thought to slow the progression of psoriatic arthritis and save the joints and other tissues from permanent damage.

 

 

dog

 

AKA:  The bane of my existence.

Many people have been asking me how my injections are going…

Well….

My swelling in “some” of my joints has gone down.  My toes look normal again, although I’m still struggling with my fingers, feet and knees.  The stomach upset wasn’t nearly as bad as I had anticipated it would be.  I have a few days of upset stomach, but nothing unbearable.

The fatigue on other hand?  Killer.  I feel like I’ve run a marathon just getting out of bed.  Sunday is usually spent napping and Monday mornings are usually filled with pumping myself full of caffeine to make it through my work day.  It sucks.  I feel like it takes a day away from my son and my family.  I lose a day each week and its incredibly frustrating.  We cram most of our plans in on Saturday to allow me a day to rest.  I know if I try to push through and not nap and rest the rest of my week will be spent recovering.  It’s an awful balancing act right now.   I hate the time I’m losing.

And speaking of losing…

I’ve also started to lose quite a bit of my hair.  YES!  I AM taking the folic acid, biotin, and other vitamins suggested to help with the side effects….It’s still falling out.  Unfortunately, I didn’t have much to spare from the beginning and I worry I’m going to end up with bald spots.

So why am I taking it?  Because the more I learn about psoriatic the more I discover if you don’t treat symptoms early, there really isn’t much you can do to avoid permanent damage.

As I researched methotrexate further, I found out it is a chemotherapy drug to treat cancers such as breast, head and neck, lung, stomach, and esophagus cancers. Acute lymphoblastic leukemia (ALL), sarcomas, non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma (NHL), gestational trophoblastic cancer, and mycosis (www.chemocare.com)-Although arthritis patients receive MUCH lower dose.

 

*I would like to give the up-most respect to cancer patients using this drug.  I can only imagine what a higher dose may do if my small dose makes me feel so wiped out! *

 

The most frustrating part….

 

It could be 4-6 months before I know if it’s working for me.  Only time will tell, and anyone who knows me can tell you I’m not a very patient person.  It may not even be the right drug for me and all of this would have been for nothing.

 elbow

Also…my psoriasis is on fire this week which is rubbing salt in the wound a little bit.  A mixture of freezing weather and stress are making my elbows very colorful.

 

Right now I have to make sure to thank my husband for taking over on Sundays and understanding that we have to take that day “off” from everything to get by.  Hopefully it won’t always be like this as time goes on-or as my body adjusts…here’s to hoping anyway.

 

 

 

 

 

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. lisasretro
    Nov 22, 2014 @ 15:22:32

    Fatigue killing me this week, 2nd week on methotrexate and still waiting for some positive effects 😦

    Reply

Leave a Reply

