From a Mother to a Daughter-Guest Blog

Now that you are a mother, (and a very good one!!), Jen, you are acutely aware of the powerful protective “mother bear and cub” impulse you now experience.

Anything that would harm your child, or create pain for your child, is met inside you with a passion to make it go away, fix it, or kick it to the curb!

That feeling never goes away!

This terrible diagnosis has been a undefeatable foe, and I hate it!

Now you have an additional adversary that I have no control over, Psoriatic Arthritis! And, OMG the medications, and their side effects are absolutely terrifying!

You have met the enemy head on! You fight it; being as fit as your pain allows, through therapy, (when the pain needs an extra push to subside), by avoiding excessive medicating, and by being aware of your body’s signals that tells you when rest is an absolute necessity.

My biggest fear – that you will grow too tired to fight.

So I pray. I pray for your strength. I pray for your endurance. But most of all, I pray for a cure!

So, all I can do to help is listen when you need me to.  However, I suspect that you internalize a lot of your pain and feelings, for fear that you talk about it too much.

Thank God for Trent, (God bless him), who gets to hear it all!

So, daughter, that’s how I feel. You are loved even more than Love you to the moon can ever describe!

Love,

Mom

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. storiesofourboys
    Nov 24, 2014 @ 06:12:56

    I’ve thought about this lately–passing my autoimmune disorders on to my children. So hard! I have psoriatic arthritis too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

